Seeing Red: How to Pick the Perfect Red Lip Color for this Holiday Season

(from left to right) Stila Stay-All Day Liquid Lipstick in Beso , Nars in Joyous Red, Pur Minerals Lipgloss Stick in Taunt, and Maybelline Super Stay 14 Hour Lipstick in Fuchsia Forever

I love a red lip especially during the holiday season. I think the best way to top off a pretty holiday dress is with nice, beautiful red lips. Now some women get nervous when looking for the perfect red lip- here are some guidelines to go by when picking the perfect red for your skintone:

  • If you have fair skin stick with coral reds, this shade range will add a shot of color that isn’t too overpowering.

  • If you have medium skin go with anything from a true red to a pinky-cranberry shade, this will flatter your golden undertones.

  • If you have dark skin sway towards dark and deep reds like burgundy or a fire engine red.

(from left to right) Stila Stay-All Day Liquid Lipstick in Beso , Nars in Joyous Red, Pur Minerals Lipgloss Stick in Taunt, and Maybelline Super Stay 14 Hour Lipstick in Fuchsia Forever

Now I wanted to share with you the red lip products that you’ll find me wearing this winter:

Stila Stay-All Day Liquid Lipstick in Beso – I have to thank Birchbox for this find! This Stila product was sent to me in my Birchbox earlier this summer and right when I saw it I knew it would be perfect to wear to during winter.  This product literally stays put all day- hence the name. The color is a rich, bright true red that is perfect for any holiday party!

Nars in Joyus Red– This semi matte lipstick is the most beautiful brick color.  I purchased this lipstick with the intention of having a lipstick that had that “wow-factor” and boy– did it deliver! It’s super buildable so you can sheer it out for a daytime look or deepen it for an evening look.

Pür Minerals Lipgloss Stick in Taunt- I wear this lipgloss stick everyday to work and I get tons of compliments! This cool toned red is perfect for girls who aren’t fully comfortable wearing a bright red lip.   They’re also super hydrating, check out our review on them here. 

Maybelline Super Stay 14 Hour Lipstick in Fuchsia Forever- This liquid lipstick is a super affordable alternative to the Stila Stay-All Day Lipstick.  Unlike the Stila one– this color isn’t a true red, but more like a raspberry color.  When I want a more sophisticated red lip- I go for this color.

So there it is- my favorite red tone lip products that I’ll be wearing this season.  I would love to hear your favorites so tweet us at @passtherouge and follow us on Instagram at passtherouge.

Xo,

Michelle

3 Comments on “Seeing Red: How to Pick the Perfect Red Lip Color for this Holiday Season

Leave a Reply

