Back to Bronze: How to Keep Your Suntan Until September

I’m not going to deny it– I love being in the sun.  Nothing makes me happier than laying by the pool or beach on a beautiful summer day.  Don’t worry- I make sure to lather myself in sunscreen with at least SPF 30!  I love sporting a nice healthy tan over the summer and I do try my best to maintain it.

This leads me to the topic of this post- how to maintain your suntan, so let’s jump into it! I think it’s important to exfoliate your body before you decide to lay out in the sun.  (We like to use our favorite body wash with an loofah to get rid of any dead skin.)  In order to extend the “life” of our tan- we use the following products to help ensure our glowing tan lasts unAdobePhotoshopExpress_2014_07_17_21_28_32til September:

Avene After-Sun Care Lotion: I purchased this lotion while in Cannes this summer because I notice that it was almost sold out in every pharmacy I went to– I can see why now!  Here’s the 411 on this lotion: it’s a super light cream that really nourishes and cools your skin. I love that it’s non-greasy and has a quick-absorbing formula that really penetrates the layers of your skin.  Best of all- it’s part of their ever famous Avène Thermal Spring Water line which helps soothe and soften your skin.

Coola Environmental Repair Plus Radical Recovery After-Sun Lotion: This aftersun lotion is a Birchbox find for me.  I was in search for an aftersun moisturizer last winter as I prepared for my trip to Hawaii- and I decided to try this one.  I happen to love this particular lotion and use it during the beginning stages of my tan (or sunburn depending how diligent I am with my sunscreen) because it really nourishes and rehydrates.  It instantly cools my skin and leaves behind the most amazing tropical scent.  Needless to say, this lotion will always have a place in my beauty cabinet.

Jergens Natural Glow Daily Firming Lotion: Okay, I know what you’re thinking- this lotion isn’t really for aftersun exposure.  I tend to use this lotion at the end of summer–as the summer winds down I want to maintain a certain level of my tan and this product allows me to do so.  This is a really safe and foolproof way to extend and maintain your tan. Beware: there is super super fine shimmer in this product.

So there you have it my three go-to products that I use to help maintain my suntan.  I just want to stress the importance of making sure you all wear some form of SPF while in the sun — trust me, your skin will thank you in 20 years! I would love to know what summer beauty favorites you’ve been using– so tweet us at @passtherouge and check us out on Instagram at passtherouge for more!

Til next time!

Xo,

Michelle

2 Comments on “Back to Bronze: How to Keep Your Suntan Until September

  1. Thanks for the tip! I have a super hard time hanging onto my tan! Would it be possible to get a review on Vain Pursuits as well? I’d like to have your opinion on their producs!

    • Me too! I usually lose my tan as quickly as my skin burns actually haha. Never heard of Vain Pursuits, but will check them out myself actually

Leave a Reply

